if you run two or more transformations or jobs at the same time on the same application server, you may get conflicts. 1 .Create a transformation containing a connection that uses variables for the connections parameters (user name, host, etc.). I am new to Kettle and having Informatica Backgroud . And how you think and use those as best practice. Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Jira Case Tracking Pentaho BA Platform ; BISERVER-2497; Report with parameter in MQL failed to execute. Severity: Unknown . Generally this is done by putting the transform in a Job and setting the variables there, before the transform runs. They can be used through the transformation as regular variables, as if you had created them before—for example, in the kettle.properties file. Using write to log step all of the above values are returned correctly.Is this expected behavior or am I missing something? Defining Variables 43. the report month. There is a clear difference between variables and parameters. XML Word Printable. You should try self before posting. Other ways to set and access variables: There are also System parameters, including command line arguments. Diethard Steiner on Business Intelligence, Introducing the Kettle Test Framework Beta. That allows you in turn to list the required parameters for a job or transformation. The only problem with using environment variables is that they cannot be used dynamically. Now I would like to pass this information to the second transformation, I have set variable in the settings parameters of the trasnformation #2 and use Get Variables inside - but the values are not passed. LosGranosTV Recommended for you. Using parameters with Pentaho Report Designer 3.5 (PRD) and later versions is not a trivial topic. If you don't define them in the transformation settings, missing parameter values will be displayed as ${PARAMETERNAME}. Named parameters can coexist with the current positional parameters ; Other things to change. You need to be sure the variables